Which Embassy Should You Apply Through for the DTV?
16 min readUpdated · facts checked
Key takeaways
- Apply through the Thai mission with consular jurisdiction over where you legally reside — Seoul explicitly reserves the right to reject applications from people not residing in Korea on the submission date.
- US jurisdiction is allocated by named state across Washington DC (15 entries), Los Angeles (13), New York (10) and Chicago; Ohio sits with New York, so check the list rather than guessing from a map.
- The jurisdiction rule often appears on a mission's general consular page, not its DTV page — which is why careful applicants still get it wrong.
- No Thailand-wide official DTV processing time exists. Ho Chi Minh City publishes 5 working days, Seoul about 7 business days and Phnom Penh 10; London and Washington DC publish none. Comparative speed rankings are guesswork.
- Fees are per mission: £300 London, US$400 Washington DC and Yangon, US$340 Ho Chi Minh City, KRW 500,000 Seoul. The widely quoted ฿10,000 does not appear on mission pages.
- Missions state different local equivalents of ฿500,000 — £12,000, US$16,000 and US$17,000 — so pick your mission before you prepare your funds.
- Phnom Penh's own advice is to apply in your home or residence country, and for a DTV that is now the rule: Vientiane says applicants must be a national or permanent resident of the country where they file. Phnom Penh's route for non-residents, MFA approval taking at least a month, should not be read as open for a DTV.
- Phnom Penh publishes a nationality annex covering roughly 60 countries in five categories, including in-person filing and a drug clearance or police certificate for Nigerian applicants, and MFA approval for Chinese nationals on any 90-plus-day visa.
- From 31 August 2026, 00:00 Thailand time, the e-Visa system requires proof of permanent residence in place of the old "document indicating current location", plus a certificate of criminal record clearance from every DTV applicant.
- Savannakhet, Kuala Lumpur and Berlin go further and require permanent residence in the country where the application is submitted — a rule, not just an evidence standard. Where it applies the bar still varies: London's examples are UK indefinite leave to remain or Irish long-term residency, Washington DC accepts a valid U.S. visa and Los Angeles a valid driving license.
- Mexico City, on a page updated 2 October 2026, still accepts applications regardless of nationality or residency status if you are physically present in its jurisdiction — which is why the claim that Thailand now requires home-country filing is wrong as stated.
- Criminal record certificate windows differ: six months at London and Rome, three at Washington DC, Los Angeles and Munich, none stated at Taipei, Fukuoka or Helsinki. Missions that had not listed the requirement in early September 2026 have not opted out of it.
The short answer
Apply through the Thai mission that holds consular jurisdiction over the place you legally reside. Not the mission you have read is fastest. Not the one nearest to wherever you happen to be standing this month. Jurisdiction is a real, published, enforced rule, and it is the one variable in the DTV process that you cannot argue your way around after the fact.
That is the whole answer. The rest of this article explains how to find your mission, why the popular advice to "apply wherever is quickest" produces refusals, what individual missions publish that the central e-Visa portal does not, and the narrow set of circumstances in which choosing a mission is genuinely difficult rather than a two-minute lookup.
Two things to fix in your head before anything else. First, every DTV application is filed online at thaievisa.go.th — but you still select a mission during that process, and that mission's local rules govern your file. Second, you must be outside Thailand when you apply. The Royal Thai Embassy in Washington DC states it plainly on its visa information page: it "is unable to issue visas for foreign nationals who are currently in Thailand." People try this anyway, every week, and it does not work.
Updated 3 September 2026. Two DTV documents changed nationally on 31 August 2026, and one of them — proof of permanent residence, replacing the old "document indicating current location" — makes filing through a mission you do not live under considerably harder at the strict missions. On 3 September we called it no new jurisdiction rule; Vientiane's page, stamped 28 August 2026, words it as one that applies worldwide (see the 17 October update below). The next section sets out exactly what it is, and what it is not.
What the 31 August 2026 change does to mission choice
On 31 August 2026 at 00:00 Thailand time, the e-Visa system changed two DTV documents, nationally. The Royal Thai Embassy in London publishes the announcement in full on its visa information page — page updated 31 August 2026, read by us on 3 September 2026:
"The e-Visa system will require all DTV applicants to submit proof of permanent residence in the UK, Ireland, or the British Overseas Territories (e.g., the UK indefinite leave to remain or Irish long-term residency), replacing the previously required document indicating their current location."
"In addition, a certificate of criminal record clearance will be required as a mandatory supporting document for all DTV applicants."
Read what was replaced. The old line asked for a document indicating your current location — a tenancy agreement, a utility bill, in thin files a booking confirmation. The new line asks for proof of permanent residence. Most of what people call embassy shopping lived in the gap between those two phrases.
It is not a citizenship rule, but it is closer to a jurisdiction rule than the announcements suggest. A claim is circulating that Thailand now requires you to apply in your country of citizenship or legal residence. The citizenship half is wrong — nothing requires you to file where you hold a passport. The residence half is substantially right where missions have published the change in full. The Royal Thai Consulate-General in Savannakhet, page updated 27 August 2026, states it in one sentence: "Effective from 31 August 2026, applicants must be permanent residents of the country where the visa application is submitted." Kuala Lumpur and Berlin carry the same requirement in mission-neutral wording — permanent residence in the country where the application is submitted — which is wording drafted centrally, not locally.
It has not reached every mission, and that is the practical point. Updated 17 October 2026. This paragraph said that, as of 3 September 2026, the rule was not published at Vientiane, Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh City, Manila, Canberra, Ottawa or Tokyo, and that Vientiane and Savannakhet published different rules. Vientiane was wrong: the Royal Thai Embassy there, on a visa page stamped 28 August 2026, says the new requirements "will take effect worldwide from 31 August 2026" and that DTV applicants must "Be a national or permanent resident of the country where the visa application is submitted". So, on Vientiane's wording, the passport of the country you file in counts too, although London, for one, asks every DTV applicant for proof of permanent residence; nothing makes you file where you hold a passport. Re-read on 17 October 2026, Tokyo and Manila publish the requirement as well, and Ho Chi Minh City asks foreigners for a Vietnamese temporary or permanent residence card; Canberra has posted only the national announcement, and Ottawa and Hanoi nothing at all. The Royal Thai Embassy in Mexico City, on a page updated 2 October 2026, still states that it accepts applications regardless of the applicant's nationality or residency status, provided the applicant stays in one of the countries under its jurisdiction throughout. So the honest description is not "a new national rule" and not "no rule at all", but a requirement that is national in substance and uneven in publication.
For planning, that leaves you in one of two positions, and they are not close: at a mission that has published it, third-country filing is over — a rule, not a document you can hunt down. At a mission that has not, the old position may still be what is on the page, but Vientiane calls the requirement worldwide, so do not build a file on a page that has not caught up. What you should not do is read silence as exemption, or plan around a mission staying quiet for as long as your application takes.
How hard that bites depends entirely on the mission, and the spread is wide:
| Mission | What it accepts as proof of permanent residence |
|---|---|
| London | Permanent residence in the UK, Ireland or the British Overseas Territories. Its own examples are UK indefinite leave to remain and Irish long-term residency — the highest bar we have found anywhere. |
| Washington DC | A valid U.S. visa is accepted as proof of permanent residence. |
| Los Angeles | A valid U.S. visa, or a valid driving license. |
| Singapore | Page updated 31 August 2026, and still asks only for a "Document indicating current location in Singapore." |
| Washington DC, Los Angeles, Helsinki | Currently list both the old line and the new one on the same page. |
| Mexico City | Page updated 1 September 2026; still explicitly nationality- and residency-agnostic, subject to physical presence in its jurisdiction. |
Mission pages as checked for this update, 3 September 2026. A UK resident holding a two-year work visa cannot meet London's published example. A traveller in California holding a valid US visitor visa can meet Los Angeles's. Same national requirement, two missions, opposite outcomes — which is why the comparison in the rest of this guide matters more after this change, not less.
The second new document cuts the same way. A certificate of criminal record clearance is now mandatory for every DTV applicant, and missions publish different validity windows: six months at London (which names the ACRO certificate or the Irish police certificate) and Rome; three months at Washington DC, Los Angeles (which names the FBI certificate) and Munich; no window stated at Taipei, Fukuoka or Helsinki. Hong Kong requests the certificate from the police directly rather than asking you for it. Several missions — among them Singapore, Ho Chi Minh City, Yangon, Phnom Penh, Oslo, Copenhagen, Warsaw, Madrid and Budapest — had not listed it at all when we checked. Treat that silence the way this guide treats every silence: as silence, not as an exemption. This is a change at the national e-Visa layer, and a mission page that has not caught up is not a mission that has opted out.
So the comparison below is not obsolete. It has become the second question. The first question is now: can you evidence permanent residence to the standard published by the mission you were planning to use? If you cannot, that mission's fee, processing time and checklist are all irrelevant to you.
The full account of the change — what the primary sources say, and which of the claims now circulating about it are false — is in The 31 August 2026 DTV rule change.
Jurisdiction is documented, and at least one mission says out loud that it enforces it
Thai missions publish their jurisdictions. These are not guidelines. The clearest statement we have found comes from the Royal Thai Embassy in Seoul, which requires that "applicants must be residing in the Republic of Korea on the date of visa application submission" and then adds the sentence every prospective embassy-shopper should read twice:
"Consular officers reserve the right to cancel or reject visa applications if the applicants are not residing in the Republic of Korea at the time of submission."
That is a mission telling you, in its own words, that filing outside your jurisdiction is grounds for rejection. It is not a technicality that gets waved through: we list it among the documented reasons DTV applications are refused.
In the United States, the split is by state and is more counter-intuitive than most applicants expect:
- Royal Thai Consulate-General, Los Angeles — Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, plus Hawaii and the US Pacific Territories.
- Royal Thai Embassy, Washington DC — Alabama, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia and Puerto Rico.
- Royal Thai Consulate-General, New York — New York, Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont.
- A fourth mission in Chicago covers midwestern states; the DC page routes applicants outside its own list to Los Angeles, New York or Chicago.
Read that New York list again. Ohio sits with New York, not with Chicago. If you had guessed from a map you would have guessed wrong. Jurisdiction maps are administrative artefacts, not geography. Check the list; do not reason from proximity.
In London, the rule works through documents rather than a slogan. The London DTV page does not carry an explicit "you must live in the UK or Ireland" sentence. What it carries is a documentary requirement that has the same effect: non-UK citizens must supply a copy of a BRP card, or a letter from UKVI confirming a UK visa or settlement status, alongside employer confirmation from the UK or Ireland. If you cannot produce that, you cannot complete a London file — whatever anyone tells you about London being a good mission. Since 31 August 2026 London has also put it in words: its visa information page (read 3 September 2026) states that the Embassy "accepts visa applications from all passport holders who have an eligible immigration status or permanent residence (for DTV applications) and currently reside in the UK, Ireland, or UK Territories", and that it "is unable to issue visas for foreign nationals who are outside the United Kingdom (UK), Ireland, or UK Territories." The documentary bar and the stated rule now point the same way.
One observation worth more than it looks. At several missions, the jurisdiction rule does not appear on the DTV page at all. It lives on the general consular or visa-information page. Washington DC is the clearest case: its DTV page says nothing about applicants inside Thailand, and nothing about timing — both of those sit on the separate visa information page. An applicant who reads only the DTV page, which is what nearly everyone does, will never encounter them. This is the single most common way a careful applicant walks into a jurisdiction problem while believing they read the requirements.
The part where we talk ourselves out of a sale
If all of the following are true, you do not need a consultancy, and you certainly do not need us:
- You live in the country — and, in the US, the state — covered by your home mission.
- You hold a passport from a country that does not appear on any mission's supplementary-nationality annex.
- You can produce three months of bank statements in your own name, in your own personal account, showing the required balance held throughout rather than deposited last week.
For that person, choosing a mission is a two-minute exercise: open your mission's consular jurisdiction page, confirm your state or country is listed, and file directly at thaievisa.go.th. There is no secret step. There is no advantage we can buy you. The Thai Embassy in Phnom Penh gives the same advice we would, free: apply in your home or residence country.
Where mission choice is genuinely hard is a much narrower group — applicants whose nationality appears on a supplementary annex, applicants living outside their passport country, applicants whose residence documentation is ambiguous or in transition, and applicants whose own mission publishes evidence requirements their situation does not naturally produce. If you are not in one of those groups, the honest recommendation is to keep your money.
Why "apply wherever is fastest" backfires
The advice circulating on forums and in agency blogs is to pick whichever mission is currently processing quickly. This is bad advice for three separate reasons, and each of them is documented by a mission rather than asserted by us.
It usually is not faster. Phnom Penh states that where the applicant is not a resident in Cambodia, the application is subject to approval from the Thai Ministry of Foreign Affairs, which "takes at least 1 month." Filing as a non-resident does not skip the queue; it adds a queue.
The mission itself tells you not to. Phnom Penh advises applicants to apply for a visa at the Thai Embassy or Consulate-General in their home or residence country, or at the designated Thai Embassy, for faster consideration times. A Thai mission publicly recommending against embassy-shopping is worth more than any claim we could make.
There is no escape hatch if it goes wrong. Phnom Penh states there is "no option for expedited visa consideration," with narrow exceptions — "faster visa processing than the timeline outlined above is possible only for medical or family emergency cases," on documentary proof — and no longer accepts walk-in applications. The e-Visa route is the only route.
There is also a cost dimension nobody discusses. Missions disagree about what ฿500,000 is in local money. London states £12,000. Washington DC states $16,000. Los Angeles states $17,000. Fund to LA's published figure and you clear every mission on this list. Fund to DC's figure and then file through LA, and you are short against the number LA prints on its own page. This is a concrete, checkable reason to choose your mission first and prepare evidence second, rather than the reverse.
While we are on money: Washington DC requires "recent saving or checking bank statements for the last three months with an ending balance of no less than 500,000 THB or ($16,000 USD) for each month that shows the applicant's name and date." That is a stricter reading than "the balance was fine on the closing date," and it is direct primary-source support for the point we make constantly — seasoning is the real test. Money that arrived days before you applied is the most common reason DTV applications fail, and no mission choice fixes it.
Processing times: what is actually published, and what is guesswork
There is no single, Thailand-wide official DTV processing time. There is no published approval rate or refusal rate either, from any mission or from the MFA — and the "62–94%" figure circulating online does not appear in the source it is attributed to. Do not plan around it and do not trust anyone who quotes it.
What does exist is a handful of missions publishing their own consular targets, and they differ sharply:
- Ho Chi Minh City — 5 working days, not including the day of submission. The consulate also advises submitting at least two weeks before travel and notes processing "can take longer for certain cases."
- Phnom Penh — 10 working days for all visa types, not including the day of submission.
- Seoul — the mission publishes two different figures on two different pages. One states that applicants can check the result "within approximately 7 business days from the date of submission of the application (excluding weekends and public holidays), provided that there are no issues with the submitted documents." Another states that "the issuance of E-Visa may take more than 14 working days (excluding the submission date, weekends, and public holidays) except for Destination Thailand Visa (DTV), which may take minimum of 4 weeks." Plan against four weeks, not seven days.
- Washington DC — no DTV-specific figure, but its visa information page refers to "the standard 21 business days" and warns that "due to a high volume of applications, E-visa processing may take longer than usual." It advises applying at least 30 days before departure, and not more than 90 days ahead.
- London — no processing time stated at all.
Note what Seoul's second page does: it singles the DTV out as slower than everything else the mission handles. That is the one genuinely DTV-specific published timing statement we located, and it points in the opposite direction from the optimistic tables. Every other figure above is a general consular target conditional on a complete file, and none of them is a promise.
Anyone publishing a comparative speed ranking across missions — "Seoul 7–15 days, Phnom Penh 3–7 days" and similar tables — is extrapolating from anecdote. Some of those tables contradict the missions' own published numbers, and in Seoul's case they contradict the slower of the mission's own two figures. Treat a mission's own page as the only figure worth quoting, check whether it publishes more than one, and treat the absence of a figure as an absence rather than as evidence of speed.
Fees are set per mission, and one universal number is always wrong
Published DTV fees, from the missions themselves:
| Mission | Published fee |
|---|---|
| London | £300 |
| Washington DC | US$400 |
| Yangon | US$400 |
| Ho Chi Minh City | US$340 (debit/credit card only, non-refundable) |
| Taipei | NT$11,000 (cash only) |
| Seoul | not published as a separate DTV line item; the mission links a consular fee schedule effective 17 November 2025 without an itemised DTV figure |
| Los Angeles | not stated on the DTV page |
A nominal ฿10,000 figure is widely repeated, including by large visa sites. We could not locate it on any of the mission pages we checked, all of which publish local-currency amounts instead, so we present it as what it is: a secondary figure, not one you should budget against. Check the fee on the page of the mission you are actually using, on the day you apply. Government fees are never refundable, by us or by anyone.
The checklists are local, even though the visa is national
The DTV categories are set nationally. The evidence standards are applied locally, and several missions publish requirements that exist nowhere central:
- Washington DC requires, for non-US citizens, "a letter is proof of employment confirming the position and work status hand-signed by the authorized HR Department or Manager," and states plainly: "we don't accept pay stubs." Los Angeles likewise excludes pay stubs and requires an employment contract or certificate. An applicant who assembled a pay-stub-based file elsewhere would need to rebuild it.
- London and Los Angeles both require certified English translations for documents issued abroad, but their wording differs and so does their scope. London: materials issued outside Thailand and the UK must be "notarized by an Embassy or Ministry of Foreign Affairs only." Los Angeles: materials issued outside Thailand and the U.S. must be "notarized by an Embassy/Consulate or Ministry of Foreign Affairs only." A commercial translation agency's stamp satisfies neither.
- Seoul requires uploads in JPG or PDF, maximum 3 MB each. A trivial-sounding rule that will stop a submission dead.
- Yangon states that "the consular officer reserves the right to request additional documents and do an interview as deemed necessary." Ho Chi Minh City "reserves the rights to request additional documents, interviews, or to disapprove as deemed necessary."
- Los Angeles requires an "original letter of notarized consent for the minor to travel abroad from mother and father/ legal guardian if the applicant is traveling alone." (The DTV itself has a minimum age of 20; this matters for dependants.)
- London, Washington DC and Seoul all warn that incomplete files, screenshots or unclear uploads trigger a request for further documents and delay processing.
There is also a real gap in what missions specify. Washington DC states three months of bank statements explicitly, with the balance held for each of them. London, Los Angeles and Phnom Penh state the ฿500,000 amount without specifying a duration on their DTV pages. Prepare to the strictest published standard, not the vaguest.
The practical upshot: "I read the requirements" almost always means "I read one mission's requirements." That is fine — as long as it was the right mission, and as long as you read its other pages too.
The Southeast Asian missions, and the resident/non-resident split
Regional missions — Phnom Penh, Ho Chi Minh City, Yangon, Vientiane — come up constantly in DTV discussion, usually with the implication that they are a soft route. The published position is more specific than that.
Phnom Penh distinguishes clearly between residents and non-residents, and non-residents in the listed nationality categories must show genuine proof of residence: "Cambodian visas, Cambodian work permit, proof of long-term accommodation, work contract, school/university confirmation of enrolment, immigration stamps showing applicant has been in Cambodia for the majority of the past 6 months."
Read that last clause closely, because it settles the question. An entry stamp from last week is not proof of residence. A hotel booking is not proof of residence. The mission is asking for six months of presence. And for non-residents, MFA approval adds at least a month on top.
Yangon does not publish a residency rule on its DTV page. That is not the same as not having one — it explicitly reserves the right to request further documents and to conduct interviews. We would not describe it as residency-free, and neither would we describe it as closed. We would say: its page is silent, and silence is not permission.
Updated 17 October 2026. Ho Chi Minh City, which also reserves the right to disapprove outright, is no longer silent. Its DTV page, which carries no date, now asks for "Proof of Long-Term Residence in Viet Nam" and states that for foreigners "Only a Temporary Residence Card (TRC) or Permanent Residence Card (PRC) is accepted". A tourist visa or an entry stamp is not on that list. Vientiane, the last name on the list above, takes DTV applicants only if they are "Lao nationals or permanent residents of the Lao PDR", on a page stamped 28 August 2026. Phnom Penh, on the same list, has published nothing about the change: its DTV page has not been edited since July 2024. With Vientiane calling the requirement worldwide, do not read Phnom Penh's non-resident route above as open for a DTV.
Already in Thailand? Read what you can do from inside Thailand before you book a trip to any of these missions, and your options at day 30 of a visa exemption if that is the stamp you are on.
The Gulf missions, and what an iqama is worth after 31 August
Two Thai missions serve Saudi Arabia — the Royal Thai Embassy in Riyadh and the Royal Thai Consulate-General in Jeddah — and when we checked on 19 September 2026 we could not find a DTV page on either. Jeddah's visa information page, last updated 22 June 2025, does not mention the visa at all. That is not a statement that the DTV is unavailable through them. It is a statement that the method this guide keeps insisting on — read your own mission's page — has nothing to read.
What Riyadh does publish is an e-Visa announcement, effective from 19 March 2024, and it is worth quoting because it is the only eligibility rule the mission states anywhere:
"Passport holders of all nationals with residence permits (Iqama) in KSA and Lebanon can apply for the e-visa through Royal Thai Embassy in Riyadh."
"All applicants must be residing within KSA or Lebanon when applying for the Visa."
Three things follow, and the last of them is a gap rather than a rule.
Riyadh's jurisdiction runs to Lebanon. That is unusual enough that an applicant in Beirut would have no reason to look at a Riyadh address, and the mission publishes a separate procedure for Lebanese nationals and foreigners residing in Lebanon alongside the announcement above. If you live in Lebanon, Riyadh is the mission to ask.
The published test is a residence permit, not permanent residence. An iqama is the ordinary Saudi residence permit: sponsored by an employer and renewed on a cycle. The status that functions as permanent residence in the Kingdom is the Premium Residency introduced in 2019, whose highest tier is one-time rather than annually renewed. That last sentence describes Saudi law from secondary sources rather than from a Thai mission page, and we flag it rather than cite it — but the shape of it is the point. Almost everyone Riyadh's own sentence admits holds the renewable permit, not the permanent status.
Nobody has reconciled that with the 31 August 2026 change. The Riyadh announcement predates it by roughly seventeen months. It says nothing about proof of permanent residence and nothing about the criminal record clearance certificate, because neither existed when it was written. So the honest position is the one this guide takes everywhere else: silence is not permission, in either direction. We cannot tell you an iqama will be accepted as proof of permanent residence, because no Thai mission has published that it will; and we are not going to guess on a document that costs a non-refundable government fee to get wrong. If you are filing from Saudi Arabia or Lebanon, the step before you pay anyone anything — including us — is a written question to Riyadh asking which document it now wants in that slot, and keeping the reply.
One nearby comparison is worth knowing, because the Gulf is not uniform. The Royal Thai Consulate-General in Dubai requires every applicant to hold a valid UAE residence visa with at least three months' validity, and runs a counter service rather than a pure e-Visa process: in-person attendance, the passport retained during processing, the fee in cash in exact change, an original stamped three-month bank statement, and a published statement that it has authorised no agency or travel agent to act for applicants. We set that out in full in our DTV cost guide. If you assumed the Saudi and Emirati procedures resemble each other because the countries are neighbours, they do not.
Nationality-specific requirements
Phnom Penh publishes an annex of additional requirements by nationality in unusual detail — roughly sixty countries across five categories. It is worth reading even if you are not applying there, because it reflects Thai MFA policy rather than a local quirk. But treat it as one mission's published implementation: other missions maintain comparable, not identical, lists.
Category 1 — 34 African states, listed individually and alphabetically from Angola through Zimbabwe, and including South Africa. Do not assume from a summary that your country is or is not on it; read the list. The requirement is proof of residence, or MFA approval taking one month. These are the missions' own lists, reproduced so you can check whether yours appears on one. Naming a country here documents what a Thai mission has published about it — it is not an offer to act there. We do not provide services to, from, or within Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, or the Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk regions (terms).
Category 2 covers three sub-lists: 2.1 Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka; 2.2 Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, Yemen; 2.3 Algeria, Cameroon, Central African Republic, DR Congo, Republic of Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Libya, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan. Egypt appears in both 2.2 and 2.3.
Category 2 additional documents: three passport-sized photographs (4×6cm) taken within six months, a confirmed round-trip or transit ticket, an employer confirmation letter, and evidence of finance of ฿20,000 per person and ฿40,000 per family. Read that as a separate, additional general-entry test rather than a substitute for the DTV's ฿500,000 requirement — the page sets the two out independently and does not state that either replaces the other.
Chinese nationals: shorter stays require proof of residency; stays over 90 days require MFA approval taking at least a month. Because the DTV grants 180 days per entry, it always falls in the 90-plus bracket.
Afghanistan, North Korea, Iraq: MFA approval required, taking at least one month, plus the Category 2 documents.
Nigeria: Category 2 documents, the application must be made in person, and applicants must provide a Cambodia police certificate or a drug clearance certificate from the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency of Nigeria (NDLEA), which the mission names explicitly, the requirement varying with residency status.
If your nationality appears on any of these lists, mission choice stops being administrative and becomes the central planning decision of your application, because the difference between resident and non-resident filing can be a month or more of MFA processing.
A sequence that works
- Establish where you legally reside and what document proves it — residence permit, BRP, work permit, long-term lease, national ID.
- Open the consular jurisdiction page — not the DTV page — of the mission that covers that address, and confirm your state or country is listed by name.
- Read that mission's DTV page in full, and its general visa information page, and prepare to its published figures: its currency equivalent of ฿500,000, its document formats, its translation and notarisation rule, its employment-evidence wording. Where a mission publishes two different processing times, plan against the slower one. Since 31 August 2026 that also means two documents that did not exist on the old checklists: proof of permanent residence to your mission's standard, and a criminal record clearance certificate issued inside your mission's validity window — six months at London, three at Washington DC and Los Angeles.
- Season your funds. Three months of statements, personal account, name matching the passport exactly. No company accounts, no crypto, no brokerage, no pension, no credit lines.
- File from outside Thailand, at thaievisa.go.th, allowing considerably more time than any published target.
- Dependants — spouse and unmarried children under 20 — apply separately, and their files require the primary holder's approved DTV. Sequence them after approval, not alongside.
No consultant, ours included, controls a mission's decision. Anyone who tells you otherwise is selling you something that does not exist. What preparation buys you is a file that does not fail on the avoidable things: wrong mission, thin seasoning, an uncertified translation, a 4 MB PDF.
If your situation is one of the genuinely ambiguous ones — a nationality on an annex, residence in transition, a mission whose published requirements do not match the evidence your life produces — a free eligibility review tells you where you stand before you commit to a package. If your situation is the straightforward one described earlier, apply yourself and keep the fee.
Common questions
Can I apply for the Thai DTV visa at any embassy I choose?
No. Thai missions publish consular jurisdictions and at least one states outright that it enforces them. The Royal Thai Embassy in Seoul requires applicants to be residing in the Republic of Korea on the date of submission, and states that consular officers reserve the right to cancel or reject applications if the applicant is not residing in Korea at the time of submission. In the United States, jurisdiction is allocated by state across Washington DC, Los Angeles, New York and Chicago. Apply through the mission covering where you legally reside.
Which US states does each Thai mission cover for DTV applications?
Los Angeles covers Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, plus Hawaii and the US Pacific Territories. Washington DC covers Alabama, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia and Puerto Rico. New York covers New York, Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont. A fourth mission in Chicago covers midwestern states. Note that Ohio falls under New York, not Chicago, so check the published list rather than reasoning from a map.
Is there an official DTV processing time?
There is no single Thailand-wide official DTV processing time, and no published approval or refusal rate exists anywhere. Some missions publish their own general consular targets and they differ: Ho Chi Minh City states 5 working days, Seoul approximately 7 business days, and Phnom Penh 10 working days, each excluding the day of submission and each conditional on a complete file. Washington DC publishes no figure but advises applying at least 30 days before departure. London publishes no processing time at all. Comparative speed rankings across missions are extrapolation, not published data.
Should I apply through a Southeast Asian embassy like Phnom Penh because it is faster?
No. Since 31 August 2026 the Royal Thai Embassy in Vientiane says DTV applicants must be a national or permanent resident of the country where they file, a requirement it says applies worldwide, and Phnom Penh's DTV page, last edited in July 2024, says nothing about the change. For visas in general, Phnom Penh states that non-residents of Cambodia have their applications referred to the Thai Ministry of Foreign Affairs for approval, which takes at least one month, and that there is no option for expedited consideration. The embassy itself advises applicants to apply in their home or residence country for faster consideration. Non-residents in listed nationality categories must also show genuine proof of residence such as a Cambodian visa, work permit, long-term accommodation or a work contract; an entry stamp or hotel booking will not do.
How much is the DTV government fee?
The fee is set per mission and there is no single universal figure. Published amounts include £300 in London, US$400 in Washington DC, US$400 in Yangon, US$340 in Ho Chi Minh City (card payment only) and KRW 500,000 in Seoul. Los Angeles does not state a fee on its DTV page. A nominal ฿10,000 figure is widely repeated online but does not appear on the mission pages or the e-Visa portal, so check the fee published by the mission you are actually applying through. Government fees are not refundable.
Do different Thai missions require different evidence for the same DTV visa?
Yes. The categories are national but the checklists are local. Los Angeles and Washington DC both require an employer letter for non-citizens and explicitly do not accept pay stubs. London and Los Angeles require English translations notarised by an Embassy, Consulate or Ministry of Foreign Affairs only. Seoul requires uploads in JPG or PDF at a maximum of 3 MB each. Yangon and Ho Chi Minh City reserve the right to request further documents and conduct interviews. Missions also state different local-currency equivalents of ฿500,000: £12,000 in London, US$16,000 in Washington DC and US$17,000 in Los Angeles.
Do I need an agency to apply for the DTV?
Often not. If you live within your home mission's jurisdiction, hold a passport from a country not on any supplementary nationality annex, and can produce three months of seasoned bank statements in your own name, you can identify your mission in about two minutes and apply directly at thaievisa.go.th. Mission choice is genuinely difficult only for applicants on a nationality annex, those living outside their passport country, those with ambiguous residence documentation, or those whose mission publishes requirements their evidence does not match.
Does the 31 August 2026 change mean I have to apply for the DTV in my home country?
Not necessarily your home country: on the wording of the Vientiane notice described below, you must file in a country where you are a national or a permanent resident, and some missions, London among them, ask every DTV applicant for proof of permanent residence. The announcement from the Royal Thai Embassy in London lists two document changes and no jurisdiction rule: proof of permanent residence replaces the old "document indicating current location", and a certificate of criminal record clearance becomes mandatory, both from 31 August 2026 at 00:00 Thailand time. But the Royal Thai Consulate-General in Savannakhet, page updated 27 August 2026, states that from 31 August 2026 applicants must be permanent residents of the country where the application is submitted, and Kuala Lumpur and Berlin carry the same requirement in mission-neutral wording. Vientiane, which we had wrongly listed as silent, puts it most plainly on a page stamped 28 August 2026: applicants must be a national or permanent resident of the country where the application is submitted, a requirement it says took effect worldwide. When we re-read the missions on 17 October 2026, Tokyo and Manila published it too and Ho Chi Minh City asked foreigners for a Vietnamese temporary or permanent residence card, while Canberra had posted only the national announcement and Ottawa and Hanoi nothing. Mexico City, on a page updated 2 October 2026, still accepts applications regardless of nationality or residency status provided the applicant stays in its jurisdiction throughout. Check the page of the mission you intend to file through, on the day you file.
Which Thai missions have the strictest proof of permanent residence for the DTV?
London is the highest bar we have found: proof of permanent residence in the UK, Ireland or the British Overseas Territories, its own examples being UK indefinite leave to remain and Irish long-term residency. Washington DC accepts a valid U.S. visa as proof of permanent residence and Los Angeles accepts a valid U.S. visa or a valid driving license. Singapore, page updated 31 August 2026, still asks only for a "Document indicating current location in Singapore." Washington DC, Los Angeles and Helsinki currently list both the old line and the new one. Check the standard published by your own mission before assuming you clear it.
How long is a DTV criminal record certificate valid, and does it vary by mission?
It varies, and the mission's window is the one that counts. London and Rome require the certificate to have been issued within six months of submission — London names the ACRO certificate or the Irish police certificate. Washington DC, Los Angeles and Munich require three months; Los Angeles names the FBI certificate. Taipei, Fukuoka and Helsinki state no window. Hong Kong requests the certificate from the police directly instead of asking the applicant for it, and London lets dependants under 16 use the primary DTV holder's certificate. Several missions had not listed the requirement at all in early September 2026, which is silence rather than an exemption.
Which Thai mission handles DTV applications from Saudi Arabia, and is an iqama enough?
Two Thai missions serve the Kingdom — the Royal Thai Embassy in Riyadh and the Royal Thai Consulate-General in Jeddah — and when we checked on 19 September 2026 neither published a DTV page we could find. The only eligibility rule Riyadh states anywhere is an e-Visa announcement effective from 19 March 2024: "Passport holders of all nationals with residence permits (Iqama) in KSA and Lebanon can apply for the e-visa through Royal Thai Embassy in Riyadh", and "all applicants must be residing within KSA or Lebanon when applying for the Visa". Note that Riyadh's jurisdiction runs to Lebanon as well as Saudi Arabia. The unresolved part is the document the e-Visa system began requiring on 31 August 2026. An iqama is the ordinary Saudi residence permit — sponsored and renewed on a cycle — rather than permanent residence, and the Riyadh announcement predates the change by roughly seventeen months, so it mentions neither proof of permanent residence nor the new criminal record clearance certificate. No Thai mission has published how the two texts fit together. We will not tell you an iqama is accepted as proof of permanent residence, because nobody has published that it is. If you are filing from Saudi Arabia or Lebanon, ask Riyadh in writing which document it now wants in that slot and keep the reply, before you pay a government fee that is not refunded.
If you would rather have someone check your specific case before you spend a baht, a free eligibility review covers exactly that — before you commit to a package.
See what an assessment covers